Apply Online | Campus E-mail

News and Information

Campus News
Sports News
Tiger Trib
Wesleyan Today
Fact Sheet
Vision and Values
University Relations
DWU President

News Releases

May 3, 2010

Faculty promotions and tenure announced

MITCHELL — Faculty promotions and tenure for Dakota Wesleyan were announced recently during the Honors Convocation along with the Exemplary Teacher Award.

William Jesse Weins, assistant professor of criminal justice since 2008, was awarded the Exemplary Teacher Award during the annual DWU Honors Convocation. Weins earned his bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from DWU in 2003 and has returned to his alma mater to lead the criminal justice program.

Weins also recently co-authored one of the first articles in the nation addressing “sexting” – a term coined to describe sexualized texting. Weins and Todd Hiestand, assistant professor of criminal justice at MidAmerica Nazarene University, published their journal article, “Sexting, Statutes, and Saved by the Bell: Introducing a Lesser Juvenile Charge with an ‘Aggravating Factors’ Framework,” in the Tennessee Law Review, the flagship journal at the University of Tennessee – Knoxville College of Law, a top-tier ranked law school.

Three faculty members were also approved for promotion at the spring meeting of the DWU Board of Trustees.

Anthony Cole, department of biology since 2004, was promoted to associate professor. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Fort Hays State University in 1990, his Masters of Science degree from Kansas State University in 1995, and his PhD from the University of Missouri-Columbia in 2001.

Sean Flynn, department of history since 1999, was promoted to full professor. He received his bachelor’s degree from South Dakota State University in 1985 and his master’s degree from Texas Tech University in 1988. He also earned his PhD from Texas Tech University in 1999.

John Husmann, department of history since 2004, was promoted to associate professor and granted tenure. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Winona State University in 1996, his master’s degree in 1998 and his PhD in 2004 from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Two retired faculty members were also named professor emeritus.

Michael McGreevy, professor of criminal justice from 1993 to 2008, was named professor emeritus. He completed his undergraduate work at South Dakota State University and the University of Missouri. He received his Juris Doctor degree from the University of South Dakota in 1969; his Masters of Science from Central Missouri State University in 1977.

George Nielson, professor of sociology/human services from 1971 to 2006, was named professor emeritus. He received his bachelor’s degree from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1952 and his master’s in theology from Augustana Seminary in 1957. He also earned two master’s degrees and a PhD from the University of Kansas.

Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
Copyright © DWU
Contact webmaster
Last updated: 5/5/10