Apply Online | Campus E-mail

News and Information

Campus News
Sports News
Tiger Trib
Wesleyan Today
Fact Sheet
Vision and Values
University Relations
DWU President

News Releases

March 23, 2012

DWU announces South Central South Dakota Regional Science and Engineering Fair winners

Senior first place scholarship winners

Senior grand award scholarship winners

MITCHELL – Dakota Wesleyan University hosted the 20th annual South Central South Dakota Regional Science and Engineering Fair March 20 and announced its winners.

There were 264 students in grades six through 12, and 159 projects from 18 South Dakota counties. Students participating in this regional event will bring projects that have already won in science fairs at local schools.

Three students will advance to the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair May 13-18 in Pittsburgh, Pa. They include: Justin Krell, Plankinton High School; Taylor Kinyon, Plankinton High School; and Emily Mudder and Alyson Roth, Avon High School. Ali Haines of White Lake High School and Isaac Smith of Mitchell High School were named Student Observers. Because Haines cannot attend the fair due to prior commitments, Amanda Reiff of Avon High School will take her place.  Julie Olson of Mitchell High School was recently named a Fellow of the Society for Science and the Public which earned her the right to name additional student observers. Those student observers are Miranda Goldammer and Aspen Bechen of Mitchell High School.

Awards were given to participating students in cash, certificates, college scholarships, plaques, medals, trophies, major industry recognition and recognition by the U.S. Armed Forces. 

In addition to DWU, sponsors include The Daily Republic, Touchtone Energy Cooperatives, Sixth District Medical Society, Twin City Fan Companies, LTD., and Logan Luxury Theatre.

More pictures and a detailed list of all winners at the fair is available at www.dwusciencefair.com.


Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
Copyright © DWU
Contact webmaster
Last updated: 3/27/12