HOME
Apply Online | Campus E-mail
 

TRiO Student Support Services HOME

TRiO Student Support Services HOME
Eligibility
Program Staff
Counseling
Disability Services
Peer Tutoring
Writing Center
Educational & Cultural Events
Resources
Scholarships
Career & Graduate School Planning
Alumni Success
Educational/Cultural Events

August
TRiO Program Orientation Event Hosted by TRiO staff & Peer Mentors
     Monday, Aug. 27 from 6-7:30 p.m. at Pioneer Park
     (behind the Dakota Discovery Museum)

September
S’mores Mentor Connection Event Hosted by Peer Mentors
     Wednesday, Sept. 5 from 9–10 p.m. outside of Dayton Hall

College is Different…. Presented by Kate Miller & Tina Ludens
     Thursday, Sept. 6 from 2:30–3:20 p.m. in McGovern 222

PRAXIS I PPST Prep Seminar Presented by Kate Miller & Malik Stewart
     Monday, Sept. 10 from noon-12:50 p.m. in 2nd floor-McGovern      Library computer lab
     (partnering with Center for Talent Development)

PRAXIS II Prep Seminar Presented by Kate Miller & Malik Stewart
     Tuesday, Sept. 11 from noon-12:50 p.m. in 2nd floor-McGovern Library computer lab
     (partnering with Center for Talent Development)

Mid-Month Monday - Academic Skills Series: Organization and Note Taking
     Monday, Sept. 17 from noon-12:30 p.m. in McGovern 221

DIVERSITY – Uniquely Familiar Presented by Sally Wickware-Thompson
     Tuesday, Sept. 18 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 222

Tweet: “It’s Laundry Day! Where’s My Febreze?” Presented by TRiO staff
     Tuesday, Sept. 25 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 222

Salsa Salsa Hosted by MCC
      Thursday, Sept. 27 from noon–12:50 p.m. in the Village

October
RUBBER BANDS Only Work when STRESSED Presented by Sally Wickware-Thompson
     Tuesday, Oct. 9 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 222

Personal Finances Presented by Consumer Credit Counseling Services
     Thursday, Oct. 11 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

Mid-Month Monday - Academic Skills Series: Memory Techniques and Critical Thinking
     Monday, Oct. 15 from noon-12:30 p.m. in McGovern 221

BEP Exam Prep Presented by Gretchen Rich
     Thursday, Oct. 18 from 1-1:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

Game Night Hosted by Peer Mentors
     Friday, Oct. 19 from 7–9 p.m. in Patten Wing Theater

Anti-TEST ANXIETY Prescription Presented by Sally Wickware-Thompson
     Monday, Oct. 22 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

Mentor Connections: Halloween Costume Contest/Pumpkin Decorating Hosted by Peer Mentors
     Wednesday, Oct. 31 at 7 p.m. in Java City

November
Quiet Leadership Presented by Tina Ludens
     Thursday, Nov. 1 from 2:30–3:20 p.m. in McGovern 222

HEALTHY RELATIONSHIPS = Like the One You’re With Presented by Sally Wickware-Thompson
     Tuesday, Nov. 6 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 222

Mid-Month Monday - Academic Skills Series: Test Taking Skills
     Monday, Nov. 12 from noon-12:30 p.m. in McGovern 221

Around the World Hosted by MCC
     Thursday, Nov. 15 from noon-12:50 p.m. in East Main

Destress & Decorate Hosted by Peer Mentors
     Monday, Nov. 26 from 7-7:30 p.m. in Java City

Tax Basics Seminar Presented by Chris Johnson and the Taxation I class
     Thursday, Nov. 29 from noon-12:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

December
TRiO Holiday Open House Hosted by TRiO staff
     Monday, Dec. 10 from 1-3 p.m. outside TRiO offices

January
Ice Skating With the Peer Mentors
    Sunday, Jan. 13 from 6:30–8:30 p.m. at Mitchell Ice Arena

Tax Basics Seminar Presented by Chris Johnson and the Taxation II class
    Thursday, Jan. 17 from noon-12:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

Mixed Blood Theater Presents African America Hosted by MCC
    Monday, Jan. 21 at 7 p.m. in East Main

Dynamic Duo Hosted by MCC & SAB
    Thursday, Jan. 24 at 9 p.m. in the Sherman Center

February
HEALTHY RELATIONSHIPS = Like the One You’re With Presented by Sally Wickware-Thompson
    Thursday, Feb. 14 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

PRAXIS II Prep Seminar Presented by Kate Miller
    Thursday, Feb. 21 from 2-2:50 p.m. in 2nd floor-McGovern Library computer lab

Friday Night Flicks: TRiO Night Hosted by Peer Mentors
    Friday, Feb. 22 at 9 p.m. in Patten Wing Theatre

FASFA Night Hosted by Financial Aid
    Tuesday, Feb. 26 from 5-7 p.m. in 2nd floor-McGovern Library computer lab
    (partnering with Financial Aid Department)

March
Jeopardy: Play while you STUDY! Presented by Sally Wickware-Thompson
    Wednesday, Mar. 20 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

PEP Help Lab Hosted by TRiO Staff
    Thursday, Mar. 21 from 2–4 p.m. in 2nd floor-McGovern Library computer lab

Easter Egg Decorating Hosted by Peer Mentors
     Monday, Mar. 25 at 8 p.m. in Java City

April
PEP Help Lab Hosted by TRiO Staff
     Wednesday, Apr. 10 from 10–noon in 2nd floor-McGovern Library computer lab

Keeping the Positive on Top! Presented by Sally Wickware-Thompson
     Wednesday, Apr. 17 from noon–12:50 p.m. in McGovern 221

PJ Study Social Hosted by Peer Mentors
     Friday, Apr. 12 from 7-10 p.m. in Upper Sherman Lobby

Study Session Hosted by Peer Assistants
     Tuesday, Apr. 30 from 5-9 p.m. in 2nd floor-McGovern Library Teufel Area

TigerNet TRiO group Educational Webinars

  • Organization and Note Taking
  • It is OK to say NO Assertiveness
  • Rubber Bands Only Work When Stressed
  • Memory Techniques and Critical Thinking Skills
  • Anti-Test Anxiety
  • Quiet Leadership
  • Test Taking Skills
  • Healthy Relationships
  • Communication with Your Professors
  • Freshman 15 with Peer Mentors
  • Preparing for a Grad School Visit
  • Interviewing Skills
  • Resumes and Cover Letter
  • Jeopardy-Make Studying Fun
 
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
800-333-8506
HOME
Copyright © DWU
Contact webmaster
Last updated: 4/17/13
605-995-2600